NY Rocker DMITRY WILD Presents ‘Liberation’ Single, A Sign Of The Times And Beacon Of Hope

New York rocker DMITRY WILD presents ‘Liberation’ single, a sign of the times and beacon of hope

“A sonic and visual storyteller… channeling Johnny Cash, Nick Cave, Jesus and Mary Chain, and Lee Hazlewood” ~ 

“Upbeat, positive, and catchy. With memorable riffs and a notable feel-good vibe… true rock ‘n’ roll spirit” ~ Big Takeover Magazine

“A tastefully crafted raucous free-rolling rocker-zen cracker” ~ Skylight Webzine

“Wild, swaggering and buoyant… hyper full-band rhythm and feel-good factor” ~ Amplify Music Magazine

Photo by Shannon Greer

New York-based garage rocker Dmitry Wild presents a rock anthem with meaning – ‘Liberation’ feat. Tryst is the first taster of his forthcoming ‘Electric Souls’ album. The accompanying video features imagery, symbolizing both protest and hope, with film footage captured in Ukraine, Spain, Czech Republic and various US locales, including Florida, Massachusetts, Tennessee and San Francisco.

Showcasing his trademark blend of 70’s vintage rock, garage rock and punk ethos, this song is quite timely, speaking to a great number of situations around the world where oppression is systemic and power struggles endure at the people’s expense.

Dmitry wrote ‘Liberation’ as a virtual rock opera – a two-part opus dedicated to liberating ourselves from the oppressions of the systems in place. The first part roars as a classic rock banger before transitioning to a notable confrontation with a policeman at the protest while searching for what unites us, before an epic solo inspired by David Bowie’s ‘Moonage Daydream’. The song ends with Tryst joining in, the duet singing in tandem “Set us free, Love will Rise and set us free”.

“This album is rooted in our human experience in the 21st century. Things have come to a boiling point this year on the social and climate front and at the global level. There are protests, virtual revolutions and personal revolutions that we are all undergoing, but by arming ourselves with electricity and guitars, we are still making noise and yelling about our belonging in this beautiful and wild place,” says Dmitry Wild.

“As fears subside, we can gather together and sing for ‘Liberation’. The only thing that binds us together is our voices – in unison they create a thunder storm as resistance movements unveil their power, as people ultimately realize that higher powers control a lot beyond our voting rights.”

Photo by Shannon Greer

Very passionate about the craft of songwriting, Dmitry Wild used the downtime of the great pandemic to get some serious work done, completing the final writing for this solo album and gradually recording this material. Some material from earlier is also included, dating back to when he was living in California.

With music steeped in garage rock and rock n roll, this album also brings in the flair of 80’s epic synths, bluesy songs, gypsy-inspired compositions, and 70’s-inspired driving tunes.

On this album, Wild collaborated with Strange House Media, their main engineer, Byron Frayne, mixing most of the songs included here and mastering the full album. This collaboration also extended to the two songs released from this album to date – the videos for ‘Don’t Need Anybody’ and ‘Castle Walls’ were also created in collaboration with Strange House Media, Byron Frayne and Tryst as editor.

On the live music scene, Dmitry’s shows take on a more rocking sound. Performing under the name Dmitry Wild & The Spells, the band currently involves Tommy Love on drums, Robert Paley on bass, Garret Smelcer on keyboards, and David Varlow on rhythm guitar. He is also sometimes joined by notable Rockabilly bassist Chops LaConte and then things take on a more theatrical turn.

‘Liberation’ is out now, available at all fine online music platforms, including Apple Music, Spotify and Bandcamp, where the ‘Electric Souls’ LP (out October 15) is already available for pre-order.

Written by Dmitry Wild
Recorded by Dmitry Wild and Byron Frayne
Produced by Dmitry Wild
Mixed and mastered by Byron Frayne
Dmitry Wild – guitars, bass, vocals
Garrett Smelcer – keyboards
Tryst – additional vocals
Matt Liptak – drums
Cover photography by Shannon Greer
Cover design by Dmitry Wild and Jennifer Claroscura

1. 21st century
2. Sweetest Thing
3. Liberation (Feat. Tryst)
4. Liberation Woes
5. Don’t Need Anybody
6. Summer of 21
7. Castle Walls
8. God, Ghost and a Ship
9. Wizard
10. Small Affliction
11. Small Affliction (Houses in Motion Remix)

The Strokes, Iggy Pop, Hot Hot Heat, The Cramps, The White Stripes, The Killers

Keep up with Dmitry Wild 
Website | Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | Soundcloud | Apple Music | SpotifyDmitry Wild & The Spells Instagram

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram | LinkedIn

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: