You, Me, And Everyone We Know Release Long-Awaited Sophomore Album ‘Something Heavy

You, Me, And Everyone We Know
Release Long-Awaited Sophomore Album Something Heavy

Out Now via Know Hope Records

You, Me, And Everyone We Know
Photo credit: Connor Feimster

SEPTEMBER 17, 2021 (Lancaster, Pennsylvania) – “I don’t really have words to summarize the 3,000 word musical summary of my descent into disability while becoming a blue collar mystic in the process of reckoning with a life of abuse and neglect during the slow collapse of civilization,” says singer-songwriter Benjamin Liebsch (pronouns: He/Him or They/Them; Ben is non-binary) of indie-punk stalwarts You, Me, And Everyone We Know and the release of their long awaited sophomore album Something Heavy today viaKnow Hope Records. In tandem with the album release, the band have also released a new music video for album track “Better Than I Ever Was.” “I would implore to listen to the album all the way through in a place where you’re comfortable feeling vulnerable. I don’t know if there is anything I can say now that I haven’t there and isn’t that the point of all this?”

Many records in the indie and alternative scene have taken on topics of existential crisis, asking big and difficult questions of life, but Ben made Something Heavy as a culmination of what’s on the other side of that plight.

Over the past ten years Ben has had a long and illuminating journey with their own mental health, building a strong background in mental and physical wellness that has shifted their music from asking the big questions to advancing the conversation and even discussing ways to move forward. Many assume that an artists best work comes at their lowest moments, however Ben’s experience with mindfulness, meditation, and sobriety is a testament to the new creative elements that an artist can unlock when they’re on the healing path.

you, me, and everyone we know - Better Than I Ever Was ft. RIVALS (Official Music Video)
You, Me, And Everyone We Know “Better Than I Ever Was”

Ben continues, “I HOPE the record leads lead to global revolution and the end of the lower case christian consumerist death cult that runs the world, an awakening of consciousness that will usher in humanity’s re-integration with nature, but it’s probably ‘just’ going to help some people who have been made to feel less than by those around them feel like they are enough in and for this world. I’ve come to view the album as a sonic mirror. My hope is that it shows you what you need to see.”

Something Heavy

 1. I Don’t Care Anymore, I’m Enough Now
2. Better Than I Ever Was
3. Draggedacrossconcrete
4. (Still) Basically A God
5. F.I.N.E.
6. Ram Dass Dick Pics
7. The World Is Ugly, I Want Wine
8. We’re Not Like That
9. Something Heavy
10. …But I Have My Doubts

It has been six years since we last heard from You, Me, And Everyone We Know. Understandably, a lot has changed primarily with Ben’s journey with their own mental health. Through therapy, they began to learn how to unpack traumas that informed a lot of the perspective of past material and understand the impact those traumas had on their development as a person. The process of knocking down these walls that Ben forgot they even built informed a good chunk of songwriting for Something Heavy, which references the ideological teachings of Ram Dass and the philosophical musings of comedian Pete Holmes, in such a way that allowed all of the separate world’s that they’ve inhibited to bleed into one another.

“I have always wondered the feeling one is supposed to have at this point now that Something Heavy is out. It is as if I climbed Everest months ago, but I’m just now sharing photos from the trip,” says Ben. “I feel excited by the prospect that my ever deepening understanding of my suffering in life could bring about for others a deeper understanding of their own. I was never allowed to have or communicate my feelings, if I had been I probably never would have learned to communicate this well through song. So, go listen to the record. It does a better job explaining everything than I can here.”

Something Heavy byYou, Me, And Everyone We Know is out now September 17via Know Hope Records.


Website Twitter Facebook Instagram

error: Content is protected !!