ED KUEPPER To Reissue Iconic Albums ‘Electrical Storm’ and ‘Honey Steel’s Gold’ on June 9


ED KUEPPER Launches Extensive Reissue Campaign With Iconic Albums Electrical Storm + Honey Steel’s Gold

Ed Kuepper

Iconic co-founder of arguably the most significant Australian band, The Saints (‘I’m Stranded’), and of the post-punk era-defining Laughing Clowns, Ed Kuepper launches an extensive catalogue campaign with the reissue of his long-out-of-print, seminal debut solo album Electrical Storm (1985) and Honey Steel’s Gold (1990) through Remote Control Records. Both will be available on vinyl on Friday, 9th June for the first time in 30 years.

Digitally remastered and available on streaming services for the very first time todayElectrical Storm is a brooding statement of intent: electrifying, moody and singular. It was a pivotal album that instantly resonated with Kuepper’s legions of fans and launched his long-standing solo career that continues to this day. Critical album Honey Steel’s Gold will be available on streaming platforms on Friday, 9th June.

One of Australia’s most culturally significant and influential musicians, with an ARIA Hall Of Fame induction, 2x ARIA Awards and several other nominations to his name, Ed Kuepper has, since 1985, released over 20 studio albums under his own name, winning countless awards along the way. It’s an unequalled catalogue of work – idiosyncratic, forward-moving, always searching – that has been acquired by Remote Control.

Label co-founder Steve Cross reiterates this feeling saying “For me Ed is a prime mover, a musician who has transformed music numerous times over, always swimming upstream, always seeking new terrain, always creating on his own terms. It’s a vast, singular body of work, no one else could have produced it. I get the same pleasure listening to these albums as I do listening to Neil Young or John Martyn or Patti Smith or Michael Rother. And it’s a pleasure to share Ed’s music and make these records available again.”

Ed Kuepper

Kuepper is a figure whose influence down through the generations remains unparalleled in Australian music, both in terms of the way he has made music, and his uncompromising attitude and fearless spirit. Of the catalogue campaign, Kuepper shares “It’s very satisfying to be involved in the long overdue reissue of these, to me, pivotal albums. And best of all there will be more… ” 

Kuepper began playing music in the early-to-mid ’70s with what would become The Saints. Their 1976 debut single ‘I’m Stranded’ (which predated records by The Sex Pistols, The Damned and The Clash) helped shift the tectonic plates of music and brashly announce the advent of punk, although Kuepper and his bandmates (including the late Chris Bailey) steadfastly maintained a cautious distance from the scene that eventuated. Nick Cave would recall the band “tore their way through Sydney and Melbourne with their famously anarchic shows… these legendary performances changed the lives of so many people, myself included.”

Ed Kuepper

Through the end of the ’70s and the early ’80s, Kuepper’s new band Laughing Clowns broke free of the musical shackles of the previous decade and ventured into new musical territory. Fans included once again Nick Cave, along with Guy Picciotto of Fugazi, Bill Callahan and Radio Birdman’s Deniz TekWarren Ellis also gleefully recalls stealing from Laughing Clowns to write music for GrindermanThe Guardian described them as “A band unparalleled in Australian rock history, contemporaries of The Triffids, The Go-Betweens, The Birthday Party and The Moodists, with a clear (acknowledged) influence on all.”

Kuepper would go on to help break down the commercial barriers that faced independent music, proving a long stay in the chart (peaking at #28) with 1991 album Honey Steel’s Gold. Ever prolific, he would also release a number of albums by the blistering power outfit The Aints, spend time as a guitarist in Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, write various film soundtracks including Last Cab To Darwinhave three of the Top 50 records in Pedestrian’s list of the Greatest Australian Albums, and most recently, perform rapturously received concerts working as a duo with Jim White of The Dirty Three.

Stream / Download / Pre-order Electrical Storm:

Pre-order / Pre-save Honey Steel’s Gold:

Ed Kuepper

Ed Kuepper – Electrical Storm
1. Car Headlights
2. No More Sentimental Jokes
3. Master of Two Servants
4. A Trick Or Two 
5. When the Sweet Turns Sour
6. Another Story
7. Electrical Storm
8. Told Myself
9. One Small Town
10. Palace of Sin
11. Rainy Night

Ed Kuepper

 Ed Kuepper – Honey Steels Gold
1. King Of Vice
2. Everything I’ve Got Belongs To You
3. Friday’s Blue Cheer / Libertines Of Oxley
4. Honey Steel’s Gold
5. The Way I Made You Feel
6. Not Too Soon
7. Closer (But Disguised)
8. Summerfield

Social Media:
Website | Facebook | Instagram

Dave Laing Publicity
error: Content is protected !!