IBWAA Selects Alcantara, Verlander in 2022 Cy Young Vote

November 9, 2022 – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners of the IBWAA Cy Young Awards winners Monday: Sandy Alcantara of the Miami Marlins and Justin Verlander of the Houston Astros. This is the IBWAA’s 14th annual election for these awards. All IBWAA members were eligible to vote.

Election results are as follows:

1st Place: Justin Verlander, Houston Astros- 454 points
2nd Place: Dylan Cease, Chicago White Sox- 246 points
3rd Place: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels- 196 points

1st Place: Sandy Alcantara, Miami Marlins- 433 points
2nd Place: Julio Urias, Los Angeles Dodgers- 179 points
3rd Place: Max Fried, Atlanta Braves- 146 points

The IBWAA endeavors to serve the baseball writing community, representing more than 750 baseball content creators. We strive to increase visibility, networking, and opportunities for all of our members. Voting for full-season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections announced in November. The IBWAA also holds Hall of Fame, preseason prediction, and All-Star Game voting.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers and content creators. For more information please visit

Website | Twitter | Podcast

error: Content is protected !!