CANDY COFFINS Preview Lead Single ‘Everyday a Fresh Atrocity’ From Loaded New LP

Candy Coffins preview lead single ‘Everyday a Fresh Atrocity’ from loaded new LP

“A compelling example of the band at their considerable best, walking a fine-tuned line between darkness and the silver-lining of new romanticism. Haunting with loads of energy, this song boasts some impressive guitar work and, of course, excellence in frontman Jame Lathren’s nervous, edgy vocal delivery” ~ Amplify Music Magazine

“Candy Coffins take no prisoners with lush instrumentation and sombre storytelling. Their gothic post-punk vortex engulfs you. Poignant vocal melodies swoon amongst soft guitars and expansive synths to craft a song that will continue wandering the sonic corridors of your mind” ~ The Record Stache

Post-punk new romantics Candy Coffins have announced they will release a new album in October. Entitled ‘Once Do It With Feeling’, this 10-track offering comes two years after the band’s latest ‘Somehow Misplaced’ EP.

Photo by Lauren Ellis

Ahead of this, the band presents ‘Every Day A Fresh Atrocity’, the first taster of this stunning album with accompanying video created by Jame Lathren. Candy Coffins provides current fans a needed fix while also presenting much to pique the interest of new listeners.

“The song ‘Every Day A Fresh Atrocity’ explores the dark corners where our work often resides, both sonically and lyrically. It conveys the feeling of the haunting suffocation of a broken relationship, compounded by a reality that seems to become more dystopian each day,” says frontman-songwriter Jame Lathren.

“The full album chronicles a relationship from the onset of the first crack to its complete crumbling dissolution. All the feelings and emotions of tumult are captured here, from both persons’ perspectives.”

This album showcases mature strides in songwriting, the band relating the themes addressed both confidently and cohesively.  Emotionally and sonically saturated, their music boasts Cure-esque textures and melody, as well as the thematic elements and visceral delivery of The Afghan Whigs.

Every Day A Fresh Atrocity [Official Video]

Based in Columbia, South Carolina, vocalist, guitarist and songwriter Jame Lathren formed Candy Coffins in 2018. A small-town boy with admiration for artists who were not on popular radio, Jame Lathren had a rich youthful experience as a cultural outcast. His resilience, sensitivity and hyper-awareness of his emotional state would ultimately permeate his own music, getting right to the heart of the emotions surrounding the human condition.

Photo by Lauren Ellis

After disbanding his previous post-punk band Crown The Cake, he formed Candy Coffins with hometown guitar legend Tom Alewine (Bachelors of Art), followed by seasoned music scene veterans Alex Mabrey on bass and Justin Purdy on keys, and former Iron & Wine touring drummer Jonathan Bradley. Their dynamic and textured approach has contributed to the band’s trademark lush sound, channeling and bolstering Lathren’s emotive songwriting and delivery.

With tasteful nods to Joy Division, The Cure, The Psychedelic Furs, The Afghan Whigs and The Cult, as well as contemporaries like The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Spiritualized, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and Interpol, Candy Coffins’ sound is dark and emotionally restless, but with elements of hope and elation. Defiantly unique, their sound is a welcome respite from musical mediocrity.

‘Every Day A Fresh Atrocity’ is out now, available everywhere digitally, including SpotifyApple Music and Bandcamp. The ‘Once Do It With Feeling’ LP will be released on October 21 and can already be pre-ordered at

Jame Lathren – vocals, guitars
Tom Alewine : guitars
Alex Mabrey – bass
Jonathan Bradley – drums, percussion
Justin Purdy – keys
Additional instrumentation by John Furr
Additional vocals by Margaret Rose Champagne
All songs by Jame Lathren (BMI) © 2022
Produced & Engineered by John Furr at Pow Pow Sound (Columbia, SC)
Mixed by David Barbe at Chase Park Transduction (Athens, GA)
Mastered by Dave Harris at Studio B Mastering (Charlotte, NC)
Single cover artwork by Jame Lathren
Album cover artwork by Phoenix Lathren and and Tom Alewine
‘Everyday a Fresh Atrocity’  video created by Jame Lathren

01. Every Day A Fresh Atrocity
02. The Falling Man
03. Seaside Girls
04. Abject
05. Tangled Up In Teacups
06. French Exit
07. Another Kiss
08. A Victory Like This
09. Cold Crypts
10. Peel Off The Stars

September 16 – Velo Fellow, Greenville, SC
October – album listening party (TBA)
October 29 – At The Addition, Columbia, SC

FOR FANS OF: The Cure, Psychedelic Furs, BJM, Afghan Whigs, Echo & The Bunnymen, Jesus & Mary Chain, And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead, Blue Angel Lounge, The Mission UK

Keep up with Candy Coffins
Website | Bandcamp | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Soundcloud | YouTube | Spotify | Apple Music | BandsInTown

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram | LinkedIn

error: Content is protected !!