IBWAA Selects Betts, Yelich in MVP Vote

Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Most Valuable Player category Thursday, with the Boston Red Sox’ Mookie Betts winning the group’s American League award, and Christian Yelich, of the Milwaukee Brewers, being selected in the National League.

This is the tenth annual election for the IBWAA in the manager category.

Election results are as follows:

1st Place: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox – 1647 points
2nd Palce: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – 1142
3rd Place: Jose Ramirez, Cleveland Indians – 840
4th Place: JD Martinez, Boston Red Sox – 786
5th Place: Alex Bregman, Houston Astros – 719
6th Place: Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians – 637
7th Place: Matt Chapman, Oakland Athletics – 498
8th Place: Kris Davis, Oakland Athletics – 214
9th Place: Blake Snell, Tampa Bay Rays – 146
10th Place: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros – 119

1st Place: Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers – 1529 points
2nd Place: Javier Baez, Chicago Cubs – 949
3rd Place: Jacob deGrom, New York Mets – 746
4th Place: Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves – 664
5th Place: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies – 602
6th Place: Lorenzo Cain, Milwaukee Brewers – 549
7th Place: Matt Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals – 436
8th Place: Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks – 426
9th Place: Trevor Story, Colorado Rockies – 285
10th Place: Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals – 284

Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.

Among others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Pedro Moura, Ken Rosenthal and Eno Sarris, The Athletic; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Chris De Luca, Chicago Sun-Times; Jon Heyman, Fancred; Tyler Kepner, New York Times; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Brian Kenny, MLBN; Will Leitch, New York Magazine; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Tom Hoffarth, Los Angeles Times; J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Tracy Ringolsby,; David Schoenfield,; and Bill Arnold.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a $75 lifetime fee. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

For more information please visit

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: