TESS & THE DETAILS Drop Debut 12-Track ‘Runaway’


Release Debut LP 
via Double Helix Records and Engineer Records

Announce Record Release Show
at Bottom of the Hill in San Francisco

NOVEMBER 14, 2023 (San Francisco, CA) – San Francisco punk rock band Tess & The Details have released their debut LP Runaway via Double Helix Records in the U.S. and Engineer Records in the U.K.  Across 12 songs, including the singles “Canary”, Runaway”, and “Mania”, Tess & The Details— lead singer/rhythm guitarist Tess Stevens, drummer Gideon Berger, and lead guitarist/bassist Jacob Light—carve out a brand of punk rock that is bombastic, polished, and harmony-laden.

Tess & The Details
Tess & The Details
Photo credit: Matthew Medina

The Indy Review recognized that, in Runaway, “Tess & The Details pay homage to punk’s roots while fearlessly exploring diverse influences. From unrelenting drumbeats to Tess’s commanding vocals, each track contributes to a dynamic, engaging, and overall impressive debut album…” which “blends genres, nodding to punk’s legacy, while making a bold statement about their unique identity.

Rebel Noise hailed Runaway as a “gritty, character-driven punk manifesto full of anthemic tracks and dark, witty narratives, ready to captivate listeners with its unrelenting energy”.  The Punk Site described Runaway as a “smorgasbord of punk rock” wherein “Tess & The Details carefully selected the best elements from the last few decades and served it up with their own distinct twist”, and went on to say that “Tess & The Details draw from contemporaries like The Bombpops, Bad Cop/Bad Cop, and For I Am as well as heavyweights such as Alkaline Trio, No Doubt, and Green Day”.

Tess And The Details album cover


  1. Blondie’s Gonna Die
  2. Canary
  3. Runaway
  4. Take a Number
  5. Emergency
  6. Unnatural Disaster
  7. Mania
  8. Jester
  9. Johnny
  10. Perfect World
  11. St. of Purgatory
  12. No Grave

“We just want to make great songs and see people going nuts to them when we play live,” explains Stevens. “It’s really pretty simple – Runaway is just the start of what we hope will be a really good time.”

Runaway was written and performed by Stevens, Berger, and Light. Runaway was produced, recorded, and mixed by Light at ModernTone Studios in Lafayette, California and mastered by Jason Livermore at The Blasting Room in Fort Collins, Colorado. The live lineup of Tess & The Details is rounded out by bassist Lawrence Hood. The band will be celebrating the release of Runaway with a headlining show at legendary San Francisco rock venue, Bottom of the Hill on December 15, 2023 with post-hardcore band State Faults in the main support slot. Presale tickets are currently available now. 

Social Media:
Website | Instagram | Spotify

error: Content is protected !!